Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Iditarod III: Dog Sled Project

I sure hope some details are visible to you in this diagram. You might  need to view it on a computer. Try expanded view.  It is much better.

This diagram was completed by one of my 4th graders, Colby, in 2002.  It was the most creative piece of work I saw in all my years in the classroom. 
This was the assignment: Create a dog sled.  You can do whatever you want.  The only rule is that a dog must be included.

Colby  was a cute, little towhead. Very bright but consistently unmotivated.  His parents and I were totally befuddled.  Sometimes these bright kids simply aren't challenged enough. I arranged for him to enter the Gifted and Talented program. But nothing worked...until this assignment.

Not only did he design this high tech, multi-feature integrated sled, he broke down the components with smaller diagrams and descriptions.  He's got everything in there : flame throwers, salt spreaders, retractable skates, various weapons, rocket skis, turbo charger and on and on.  It took him twice as long to finish as the other students but since I saw how much he was engaged in it, I let him take all the time he needed.

From the day he received an A+ on his creation, I had his complete attention for the rest of the year .  We were all amazed but it proves that all a child needs is a spark and they will be on the road to success.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.