a town called E.

By Eej

His and hers

May your smiles always be as broad and your eyes always be as sparkly as they were today.

(backBlipped on September 2nd)

We drove to Brighton, MI - the Beloved at the wheel and me taking random photos to support a sudden (and short) Instagram addiction. Brighton's about 2 hours away on the Detroit side of the state. We checked into the hotel there and lounged about a bit before getting ready for the wedding. My hair was having an off day and I suspected the event to be rather posh - it being held a a countryclub an'all. So I fussed and fussed and made us miss the first shuttle to the club. Oh yeah baby, there was a complimentary shuttle from the hotel and back.
Anyway, we still made it in time. The ceremony was short and sweet, the bride looked so elegant and shiny and radiant- and the groom, well, I don't think I have EVER seen a groom with such a wide, triumphant happy grin on his face throughout the entire day. It all made me very weepy. Fortunately there was a good Chardonnay to keep me dry and going ;)

We were sat at a table with a childhood friend of the bride - or, as we now call them, our new BFF's - which was an excellent match and made us all very loud. Hehehehehehe. And then there was my food. Being of the non-meat eating variety I was hoping I wouldn't end up with something dead on my plate but they gave me a butternut squash ravioli that was so good I asked for the recipe. Or I think it was the Beloved who did that, but I was all for it.

Then there was dancing and more hilarity and wine and hugs and smiles and I was on the dancefloor with people staring at me in what I'm going to pretend was admiration and not bewilderment. Then I danced with the Beloved who told me to apologise to his feet for having them go through that. I figured it was payback for when he told the hotel clerk person I'm prone to violence.
And then it was time for the shuttle back. *sigh*
That's the thing about really, really good days; they always end too soon.


Thanks guys, for inviting us. Have a wonderful honeymoon!

(Also, I hope you're okay with me using this photo. If not, just let me know and I'll change it out for something else :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.