Here we go

Despite meaning to have a really quiet day I actually managed a lot - have always been useless at taking it easy as soon as I'm well enough to get out of bed!
Up early and down to town for camera shopping. I had heard Jessop's was a good place to go for advice. Well, not today - absolutely useless assistants. So, off to nearby restaurant for breakfast, (more!) web surfing and checking what camera alfthomas uses. Bingo....sorted! (Canon PowerShot G7 Mk II) Cashed in my free prosecco voucher (with orange juice as a concession to the hour!) and found the cheapest deal online. 
Home (raining throughout!) then made some soup for the week's lunches and some shortbread from my Mum's old recipe. She'd sent it to me, with some idiosyncratic directions, in an old airmail letter from Tasmania in 1984. The other side of the letter is full of talk about me just having passed my PhD viva and the months ahead when my first son was due. We never got on when she was alive but I understand her better now and I know my love of cooking came from her. I still have the tin she always kept stocked with shortbread and it was rather nice to have it filled again this afternoon.
Facetimed the family - Mt and AR went up to see A, N, T & K (extra)
Was going to clean the flat but made do with some laundry and then made a chicken, cardamom, sweet potato and ginger stew from a recipe sent over from VickyG for comfort food whilst I watched Eddie the Eagle....warm and funny

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.