A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Dolphin

A small stone dolphin I bought last weekend, very shortly before seeing the real thing.

Dolphins have become increasingly popular in New Age circles in recent years because of their intelligence and playfulness and many people are keen to swim and play with wild dolphins.

I think that although dolphins are beautiful and fun to watch they are also huge powerful predators with large mouths crammed with sharp pointy teeth and are best viewed from a respectful distance!

Human beings are dolphins main and in fact pretty much only, predators. Due to their size, aggressiveness and propensity to swim around in gangs there is not much that could actually take a dolphin on apart perhaps from a particularly large and fearsome shark.

Just had it confirmed that I probably did see a Storm Petrel flying up the beach last weekend. I think I am very lucky to see one so close!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.