Stonechips and Shingle Street

My daughter and I drove our S2000s in convoy to a track day. I was excited because we were headed to Suffolk, Ed Sheeran country, which features in his songs that everyone loves. We had to go on a huge detour to get onto the A14 as the A120 was closed. My daughter was worried that we wouldn't arrive in time for the safety briefing. When we were reversing up a lane we had taken by mistake I said, "We need a man." She said, "We need a map." :) We usually have kind blokes getting us out of trouble when we're lost playing cars. 

We met our mate Dan at Woodbridge airfield, he had brought his track MX5 and was sporting an Edish ginger beard. We got on very well with his MX5 friends and everyone else we met. My daughter loved the track. The surface was a bit loose in places, no good for garage queens. A guy who had brought a five-month-old Porsche decided not to stay.

At lunchtime we went to get petrol, took a wrong turning and ended up on the coast at Shingle Street, which I love. It's a hamlet at the mouth of the river Ore. We went for a quick walk on the eponymous beach. My main pic is looking south west towards Bawdsey. Shame I didn't have a lens more suitable for landscapes with me.  I've included an image in extras of some gorgeous sea kale sprouting up from the shingle.

By the time the afternoon session was over my daughter had perfected her lines and was circuiting impressively quickly. (Extras) No problems with UFOs even though the Rendlesham Forest abuts the track. ;) We'll definitely go again. The last time we went to Woodbridge was when she was a little girl and we sailed there from the River Crouch.

Today's poem is Forget Not Yet by Thomas Wyatt. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/45576

Must admit I haven't had time to take in this poem owing to grappling with my failing internet connection. I've lost this post once when it was nearly complete. Thomas Wyatt narrowly escaped execution by confessing his love for Anne Boleyn. She was beheaded for her part in the relationship.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.