Arse in the grass

I had no intention of blipping this as I had taken some much more photogenic scenes on my walk down to the sea but on my way back to the village I passed a field with rabbits hopping out from the hedge. I stopped and waited to see if they would come any closer but of course they didn't. So I took a few shots anyway and then I was amused to find on enlarging them that I had captured a rather clear image of a rabbit's fundament... and what's more there turned out to be another rabbit, camouflaged in the grass - can you spot it?

I was straight away reminded of the 1966 film Blow-Up, Michelangelo Antonioni's famous celebration of swinging London in which a photographer's stroll with his camera in a South London park reveals a possible murder scenario when he develops and enlarges the film in his studio dark room.

Here's the memorable sequence when the photographer (David Hemmings, who sadly died in 2003 aged only 62) discovers his inadvertent capture. The cast also included Vanessa Redgrave, Sarah Miles and Jane Birkin. The clip is interesting too as a reminder of what was involved in developing and printing in those pre-digital days. Photographic fundamentals one could say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.