Photographic Poeticisms

By TerryRhiannyr

Gallop

Oh to be on horseback
To feel the wind
Reins tense, reins slack
To watch as tree and leaf
Rushes past
Hooves racing, ground beneath

Ah to feel the life
To lose for a moment
The worries, the strife
Freedom beckons, undisguised
Laughter bubbles
For so long, ignored, derised

But this, this is joy
This! This, my friends
Is bliss that naught can destroy
This is the roar of blood
This is the passion
This is all being as it should

The spirit free of earthly care
Only you, the wind
The sound of birdsong in the air
A passion, felt without match
A brief, ecstacy filled moment
A present given without catch

Oh to ride, to ride the wind
Oh the sweet liberty
The freedom to oneself find
The indescribable feeling
The horse-human meld
The senses left aghast and reeling

Tell me not that there is no freedom
Tell me not that we are consinged
To servitude, to perpetual serfdom
Sit! Sit once on the back of one proud beast
And, Oh! Oh sweet, joyous liberty!
There! There passion is finally released!


Terry Rhiannyr
September, 2012


A young friend of mine riding my horse, Joey during her lesson. The look of pleasure on both their faces is brilliant! I just love this photo as it epitomises what horse riding is all about.

This poem flew off my fingers in a very short while as I looked at the image as I thought it would as soon as I saw it when I was searching through the day's photos for my poem-blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.