CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The view from my window

I was working at my desk this morning when I heard the loud reverberations of a nearby helicopter. I looked out the window and saw the bright yellow chopper  a little way down the valley hovering a couple of hundred feet above the valley bottom. 

I went downstairs to get my camera and from the patio door I saw I couldn't get a clear view of it. So I returned upstairs and by then the helicopter had moved down the valley and was hovering above the back gardens of houses further down our road. As it moved towards our house I took this picture and was rather surprised at how steeply it had to bank to clear the tree tops. The background shows the perched houses of Butterow on the far side of the main Golden Valley.

By then I could see the writing on its fuselage and realised that it wasn't an air Ambulance or a police helicopter, both of which we sometimes see here flying above The Horns valley and even landing on odd occasions. Actually it belongs to the local electricity board and was obviously checking on the power lines that are dotted about the valley. After it flew past our house it continued right to the end of our small valley before heading back and away off towards the centre of Stroud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.