Jenmoirio

By Jenmoirio

Evocative Smells

To be honest I thought today would be another picture of cake. My work is a bit cakey at the best of times but this week has been out of hand! Today was a Red Nose Day bake sale and I don't know how I resisted all the home bakes. I thought it would be easy as I'd indulged every day this week but the smell in the conference room was amazing. Home bakes really do smell so much better and I think maybe there's something about the association with them and authentic proper homeliness.
I did however attempt to guess the Malteser surprise cake number of maltesers but lost and therefore lost the whole cake, gutted!
Anyway today's picture is cut grass. Another amazing smell. As soon as I got home I could smell it. The grass cutters had been for the first time this year and as I opened the stair door I could smell the scent. I'm not sure what associations this brings up, spring, summer, freshness....whatever it is it's such a great smell. So I took a pic of the shared green and also had a look at my little garden which is coming alive. I'll have to send pictures to my mum as it's her that got my garden sorted last year. Good times. I'll also have to stop my neighbour putting my bins in front of my pretty blue fence. Communal living AND age maybe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.