Crocosmia

I took a workshop today in the ergonomics of knitting, and here I am trying to apply some of the principles to sitting at the computer (sit up straight, move, stretch, sit up straight). One of the most interesting things I learned was that needles made of different materials have different characteristics in relation to the yarn you choose---certain metal needles are "faster", softer woods grip certain fibers better, and so forth. I've just never heard these ideas before. I thought you picked a needle because you liked the pretty color, but it turns out it has a lot to do with how the project goes, and how your body handles the whole experience, whether you are expending more effort than is necessary, and whether your movements are economical and smooth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.