Growing old is compulsory;

growing up is optional.
Attributed to Bob Monkhouse. Though I'll bet he pinched it, it must be a lot older than that.

Almost from the moment we met, LA simultaneously, adopted me, christened me ''Uncle Brian'' and proceeded to try and ensure I never grew up: using Birthday/Christmas presents similar to this. Not that long ago I was building a Landrover based fire engine about 10'' long.

Today I leapt sprightly out of bed, 'twas ever thus, got down stairs and temporarily died without bothering to lie down. For no reason I could explain, I broke out in a cold sweat and crumpled into uselessness. Whether B.P. of 107/76 was a contributory factor I'll leave those better qualified to guess.

''Much more betterer'' now, but used the otherwise wasted day to start, and almost complete, this latest toy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.