Latitude Living

By QueSeraSara

Millwork

For a couple of years while I was at the university studying architecture, I worked part-time at a lumber yard and mill. Most of my time was spent with contractors calculating their lumber, door and window estimates, but I also designed custom moldings. I loved going into the mill shop, seeing the various machines at work, brushing off the sawdust and smelling an assortment of woods. Today I got my hair sprinkled with sawdust again when I went down to our dungeon to cut some boards. For a few moments I was transported back to that lumber yard and it was wonderful.

"Books, shmooks, this sickness has got me wishing if I can ever get out of this I'll gladly become a millworker and shut my big mouth."
~ Jack Kerouac

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.