Cinema

I've collected every single cinema ticket of every movie I've been to since The Thomas Crown Affair (seen here at the back in green) remake on the 26th of August 1999 (there is of course a reason for this particular date and film but I won't go into it just now). I go through them every now and again and think 'Oh!' and 'I remember that!' and 'It was how long ago?!' They all live in this box alongside some cool postcard size movie 'posters' which I also collect.

My top 5 films change from year to year. I like to think I've seen a good range of different genres and I do try to expand my tastes but it's the blockbusters that have the power to make my jaw drop, which is really what I want when I go to the cinema. The Matrix, and more recently The Dark Knight have satisfied most things I hold dear in a trip to the cinema. None have yet come close to Transformers though.

Last year, Oman was hit by a terrible cyclone (you can follow the story through my blips which start here) which caused widespread destruction of the city, including the flooding of our house when the sea banks broke. The little box of memories I took to Oman with me (you know the kind of thing: favourite CDs, old letters, presents from Santa when I was young) was completely detroyed, and I was pretty upset about it at the time. This cinema box however was upstairs and survived the ordeal and is the only thing I have left that I took to Oman.

-------
We've just got back from seeing the Oliver Stone film W. I really liked it. It wasn't what I was expecting and gave an interesting insight into a man I've only every thought of as a complete idiot. I still think he's a complete idiot, but now I understand why.

In Muscat, a trip to the cinema can be infuriating (check my previous entry on the matter) and today was no exception. There were five very noisy and irritating children in the theatre due to their mother having something to do which required leaving them somewhere safe for a couple of hours.

To the young Omani who tried and failed to shut them up before getting security to chuck the little buggers out...

You are my hero.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.