Lines

I worked from home this morning as I had someone coming to try to fix our boiler, which packed up while I was away at the weekend. When the guy arrived and immediately noticed a certain flashing light, he announced with satisfaction that he knew what the problem was. Easy then. I went to make him a cup of tea and returned a few minutes later expecting to see all was back working. Instead, I arrive to see him hitting the electrics with the blunt end of his screwdriver! Obviously not so easy after all. Apparently it was a loose connection and he was getting it to work with the good old fashioned method of a bang. It wasn't a very successful approach. He's coming back with a spare part on Friday.

The morning was sunny and really rather warm, indeed one of the warmest days we've had here since March! I had some design work to do so it was a privilege to be able to sit out on my balcony and do some thinking in the sun. Quite seriously, I'm much better at finding solutions to design issues when I'm away from the computer and sitting outside. I don't get the chance to work from home too often these days, so it was wonderful to take my job out on to the balcony here (where this shot was taken) and be able to work on the tan at the same time!

I took the opportunity tonight to race the Ilkley Incline, a run of exactly one mile, all uphill for 560 ft of climb. After bemoaning my lack of fitness of late, I actually had a pretty good race, finishing in 9.29, all of 38 seconds faster than last year. I think there is life in the old dog yet! It helped that my legs are not currently full of cycling miles. The zip is coming back. And I feel on a real high at the moment. Mr.John was running too (blipping me in the process!) and Muddyshoes was in attendance, supporting her husband and two of her daughters, who were also running. I can report that the youngest Miss M (just 13) beat her father and wasn't too far behind me. She's very talented. I've set her the challenge to try to beat me next year. I don't think I stand much chance!

We've rented The Hunger Games on DVD to watch tonight. I loved the book. I'm very intrigued to know how it transfers to the screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.