A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Seaglass collection

I thought I might try to display some of the beautiful colours from my seaglass collection. It turned out to be quite tricky to bring the colours out! The paper it is sitting on looks patchy but I think the glass colours have come out pretty well and that it the main thing.

According to Wikipedia, some of the colours are pretty rare such as grey (at 3 o'clock) and what I am pretty sure is cobalt blue (slightly before 9 o'clock). The bit below the cobalt blue could be aqua or turquoise. Below that is a yellow colour that I can't identify from the possibilities. It might be from an old vaseline container.

The bit in the middle is what most intrigues me though. I think it is a pontil piece, explained here on this seaglass website. Although I didn't find it at Seaham I am reluctant to say where since there seems to be an industrial trade in seaglass which is rather a shame. Keep your eyes peeled while on any beach though as there may be bits of this all over the place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.