The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

This might make a good caption competition!

B and I took Gus for a walk at lunchtime, and I was stunned to see this new born Highland calf and her mother.  It's four years since the mother was born in this field, and she is still not full grown.  I was contemplating taking a photograph of her on Friday evening, and I didn't spot that she was even pregnant, never mind that the birth of her calf was imminent.  I don't know when she arrived, but the umbilical cord is still attached as this photo shows.

This photo was taken later in the day, after a fine lunch at No 17, when we took S and Wifie up to see them.  Mother was being quite protective of her newborn, and we didn't go too close or stay too long.  Long enough though to capture this tender moment, and another (in the Extra) of the little calf having a bit of a gambol round her Mum.

I had a lot of fun photographing the Highlands four years ago when the herd and the cows were bigger.  Until this little one was born, for the last two years and more, there have only been the three calves from that year in the pasture.  I knew one was a little bull with everything where it should be, but I honestly thought they were not mature enough yet to breed - they are so much smaller than the big mothers that were here in 2013.

It's been a good weekend with S & B, we hadn't seen them since we visited them in Spain in October.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.