Swan Dramas

Arrived early at Schull harbour to spend some time outdoors before work. The light was wonderful and there was an amazing amount of activity, a few fishing boats came in, with my seal friend following them! Initially I thought the swans were enjoying a bit of morning passion but got it completely wrong! Two strange swans have come into the harbour and the resident male left the female minding the cygnets while he fended of the visitors, I wondered if the newcomers could be last years cygnets? It was all quite dramatic and a fisherman informed me that the male defending his territory might actually kill another male!
By the time I left for work the strangers were moving away, being seen off by the local male. There was a guillemot in the bay too, I don't think I've seen one before. I had also wondered if the seal would eat a cygnet, when small but I think not and today they were all comfortably in the vicinity of each other. The seal was not even interested in the discarded starfish that were being thrown to him, a fisherman told me that he has much more expensive taste!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.