2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Tulips

Had an early start but enjoyed a nice breakfast from a very extensive buffet in my hotel. I headed back to the station and then took a ferry over to the museum where the conference was being held. It was good to talk to the other delegates and meet some of the organisers who I'd corresponded with via email. 

My talk was in the second afternoon session. The venue was a full sized-cinema and the screen for my presentation was enormous. It went OK, I kept to time and had lots of questions afterwards. I was quite pleased when it was over. 

Went back to the hotel to dump the laptop and then back to a bar for the evening meal and drinks. The meal was a standing up affair with lots of small dishes brought out on trays. It was hard to work out what was vegetarian but eventually the waiters managed to find me a few options and it was very good. Lots of talking and standing and not much drinking as there was too much to say. A few of adjourned to a local bar afterwards to sample the gin (served neat without tonic) and talk about non-work things. The gossip was that two of the reps from one university had somewhat overindulged on the free bar and had disgraced themselves - I'd missed that!
Walked back to the hotel and printed out my boarding pass for the next day. Pleased to be in bed at last. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.