Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Bee flight

Last night when I got home from the internet café, I decided to do the kitten blip for the day, only to find two kittens in the box instead of five! I shot them and put them back in the box and waited. I checked in every twenty minutes or so, but no Momma. As time went on, I started to wonder if Mom had abandoned the last two in her move. By morning I had formulated a plan. Forget about blip, go the bank, buy some formula and a couple of bottles and hand feed the kitties.

Fortunately, when I went down stairs, Mom was with the final two giving a top up of milk. She picked up the ginger by the neck and trotted off. I followed at a discrete distance, just to make sure everything was OK. She went into an industrial estate just 50m up the road, were she was shooed by the workers. I left it at that as there was nothing more I could do and went on my daily blip safari.

When I returned, the final kitten was gone so everything must have been OK with the move. Dad cat was also in attendance in the move and so Mom was not going to go hungry. I just hope their brief stay at my abode has scared off the rats. So, no more kitty blips, but I am somewhat relieved, I really didn't want a house full of cats!

Another fruit laden branch of the date tree had ripened, so there were bees galore. I did manage to get a swarm shot, but the only way to do it was to under expose. On a normal exposure, the bees just vanish into the light.

I was very brave, lying on the floor amongst the fallen fruit and hundreds of bees, snapping bees in flight, calmly brushing off the bees when they landed on my face, I was proud of myself, clearly over my wasp/bee aversion of a year ago.

This was my favorite of the series. I know it smacks of the famous yellow carpenter bee shot that gained weekly staff picks fame, but there is something special about a head on bee in flight shot. Hope you like it anyway, I know you are not overly impressed by repeats.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.