An Irish Guy Abroad

By EBGB

I love it when a plan comes together

Last year when I started re-training as an AAT or as you might know it an Accountant I had an idea. I have worked for the last few years in the creative industries in different roles. I started helping my wife Cath set up workshops when she worked with Action Factory which over the years and some joinery training became a job working as a resource worker. I now work in Culturapedia an arts project management company as an Accounts and Systems assistant. So I knew when I started the course that there were quite a lot of artists who work for themselves and need someone to do the books for them. In this months AAT magazine there was an article about becoming an accountant for the creative industries. Boy did I have a good idea, I didn't know then that 1.5 million people are employed in the creative industries and that these account for a massive 11% of the UK's export of services. Of course hardly any artists make enough money to support themselves from their creative pursuits and take part time jobs but they still need an accountant.

It makes you wonder why the government has cut so much funding to the arts but when we get this terrible inequity resolved and the creatives can get the funding they need to allow them to continue creating, I will hopefully be qualified so they will be able to hire my services from Culturapedia or as a sole trader working in the creative industries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.