Pranksters

Here's Period 5, my Merry Pranksters of all my classes. On a normal day, they change something around in my room. Today it was the desks facing away from me. It's all good natured, and in good fun. I have made my peace with it, and I kind of expect it.

I started the period reading from Life of Pi. I read the name "Herman Melville" in the text, and Michael, the kid in the orange hat, said, "Herman Melville? What a frickin' train wreck of a name!"

I stared at him as the class chuckled. After a long pause, I finally asked, "What does that even mean? He wrote Moby Dick for crying out loud."

In his defense, he was pretty good natured about it all, smiling and laughing.

He said, "What a frickin' train wreck of a book."

Truth be told, talking about Moby Dick today was about as close to reading it as Michael was going to get. I really, really like the kid, though.

Later, a girl from the same class said, "Pops, you've only been teaching here for 3 1/2 months, but you are my favorite teacher ever."

So...there's that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.