Day 3. Hamilton to Paihia.

And it rained all the way.

A blurry Blip taken through the rain washed bus window as it drove along the foreshore of Paihia, looking for our hotel. Despite the rain, it has been a fascinating day as we entered into a part of New Zealand I have never been to before. It surprised me just how hilly and rugged the area is.

A real high light was stopping at Marsden Point Oil Refinery for a wee tour and film of their operations. I wouldn't have believed the refining of oil could turn out to be so interesting. 80% of the fuel used in NZ - from diesel to aircraft fuel - is refined there from imported oil.

The food at all our hotels has been lavish and superb. I can feel myself expanding :-(

A big day at Waitangi where the treaty was signed, is for tomorrow. Early to bed tonight

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.