Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

In Fnjóskadalur

I was feeling a little bit better today and after a nice visit and a chat with my grandmother and aunt, my husband and I decided to drive to Fnjóskadalur.

We drove over the mountain Vaðlaheiði on the old gravel/dirt road and our destination was an old house called Skógar. For 40 years, or until 1972, there was a boarding school for children and a central phone office in this building.
During the summer the Uglan café (Owl Café) has been open in this old house. It's a lovely restaurant with nice atmosphere and history in every corner.

Today Þór Sigurðsson and Rósa María Stefánsdóttir entertained guests with stories and songs and one of my friends from the photography club, Hrefna Harðardóttir, has a great photo/art exhibition in one of the old classrooms. I enjoyed being there this afternoon and I highly recommend Uglan café after this first visit :)

But what about the challenge? Well, today's project is messy and all day the weather has been what I call messy weather or "subbuveður" in Icelandic. Everything is wet and dirty after being outside for a while.
The car was especially dirty after the drive on a dirt road in Vaðlaheiði! But we probably don't have to worry about that in 2014 when the tunnel through Vaðlaheiði will be opened ;)



----------------------------
In September I'm going to use a a challenge list from Fat Mum Slim (from August).

1. Outside
2. One
3. Coin
4. Somewhere you sat
5. Logo
6. Writing
7. 8 o'clock
8. Glasses
9. Messy
10. Ring
11. Purple
12. Spoon
13. Simple
14. Arrow
15. Ready
16. Food
17. Faces
18. Inside
19. Hole
20. Today
21. Cool
22. Home
23. Pair
24. Path
25. Fresh
26. Dream
27. Tap
28. Clock
29. Down
30. Card

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.