Frogbit

By Frogbit

Strange wet stuff

I can't imagine it's made much difference to the water butt levels but still some rain is better than none.

When I went out to lock up the hens last night I found that one of them, the most timid, didn't seem to be able to walk. I hadn't wanted to investigate too thoroughly as she seemed pretty traumatised but I eventually reckoned that our garden fox must have got uncomfortably close and although it didn't get her she probably panicked and became entangled in the electric fence. Not pleasant. And in her frantic attempts to extricate herself she must have damaged her legs. I tucked her up in the coop with a bowl of water but she wasn't very interested in drinking and pecked very half heartedly at the corn proffered.

This morning she seemed to have perked up a bit and enthusiastically got stuck into a bowl of corn and pellets but still was struggling to stand.  I hate taking the hens to the vets as it's so traumatic for them (why do dog owners in the waiting room think it's entirely fine to slacken the lead so their mutt can give the hen box a good sniff??) but I was worried that there might be some more fundamental damage that needed to be addressed. Anyway, no wings or legs broken and no other signs to be concerned about - big relief. Just a lot of TLC while she recuperates.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.