Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Mosquito

Update -Identification - Chironomidae

Finally managed to nail a mosquito shot that I was happy with. I had planned to take the tripod today, but forgot, DUH! I found this critter on a rice stem, high up in the sunlight, not a usual location for this light sensitive critter. Usually, as the sun rises and the shadow creeps across the rice paddy, the swarms of mosquitoes can be seen hoping back into the shadow until they all end up in the bushes and are gone for the day.

What I was after with this mozzy, was the impressive array of antennae on it's head. I wanted to at least get the eyes close to focus, but they were not a priority in this case as it was proving to be not possible to get the eye and the antennae. I also wanted a piece of the tail in focus to complete the illusion.

Not sure what these nefarious creatures feed on, but they don't seem to favor my wrinkly hide. I do not wear repellant at this location and have never picked up any bites, compared to the grove, where if I didn't wear repellant, I would be vigorously eaten alive.

I have counted about six types of mosquito at this location but this is the most common and makes the most impressive blip. The others do not have this antenna arrangement and are a lot easier to photograph, but I wanted to test the blip waters with this one first. Hope you like it, easily the most difficult subject I have tackled so far. You just would not believe how many binned shots I have taken for this tiny fly.

Today is 911, so spare a moment for the families of those lost to this barbaric tragedy eleven years ago today.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.