Greetings from the Pennsylvania Woods and Waters!

It was Mother's Day, and I was well blessed on this day to be able to visit my mother to wish her a happy day. A few of my siblings and their families came to visit too, and it was the first time I had seen several of them since Christmas.

It rained a bit in the morning, but the afternoon turned variably sunny, and occasionally quite windy. We had a very nice visit with my family, and I strolled around the grounds, taking pictures of lady's slippers, bleeding heart, and lily-of-the-valley.

When we left there, my husband and I stopped at the Creme Stop along route 35 in McAlisterville (a soft-serve ice cream joint and fried food stop, formerly known as Jim & Betty's in my youth), and it was just PACKED. Part of the reason was definitely that they were giving away a free sundae or ice cream cone to all mothers.

My husband and I ate in the car, and I had my food sitting on the dash, as one does. It is always a treat to go there, and this was no exception. You may view a picture of my delectable fish sandwich, sundae with caramel and hot fudge sauce and chopped nuts, and large order of onion rings in the extras.

It was some of the best roadside fried food I've ever eaten. In fact, the fish sandwich, topped with lettuce, tomato, onion, tartar sauce, and cheese, may have been THE best fish sandwich I have had in my entire life! Here's a link to a photo of another favorite Creme Stop meal.

So with our tummies full, my husband and I made our last stop of the day before heading home. We paid a quick visit to the little pond at Hairy John, along route 45. It has a very old feel to it, and the afternoon light through trees there can be just spectacular.

I tried to snag a photo of the big bull frog who lives on the far left corner, but of course, once again, it was too quick for me: ker-sploosh! it went, and I missed the shot AGAIN. Maybe I'll get you next time, big boy!

My husband insisted that for once, HE should take the camera and get a few shots of me in the outdoors of our beloved central Pennsylvania. So here is a picture of me, smiling and waving, from what is apparently my native habitat, the Pennsylvania woods and waters!

This was a very special day; a happy day, full of many lovely sights and joyous things. I visited some people I love, visited some places I love, ate some delicious foods at a favorite creme stop, and overall simply enjoyed the day.

Here's a song for this day, which was full of love and so many good things: Bryan Adams, Rod Stewart, and Sting, with All for Love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.