Light tower

The floodlights at Meadowbank shining in the evening sunshine before our regular Tuesday game of football. A variant on the recent youth v experience challenges tonight with 6-a-side 'veterans' v 'olympic squad' (under-21 with 3 over-age players).In the end they added an extra player, as someone had turned up for a game on the adjacent pitch that clearly wasn't happening as none of his mates had turned up. And we were playing against the wind and into the sun. The wind was a bit awkward - at least that's the excuse for our difficulties in getting the ball under control. I ended up playing my favourite role - main striker chasing and hassling the goalkeeper and defenders as much as possible. Although I'm not as fit as I was when it was my regular position in our five-a-side league team several years ago, I did create a few chances and in the end one of them paid off and I scored our first goal, after playing for about thirty-five minutes! Which made it 1-2. In the end I scored five of our six goals, and took a perfect corner onto Stewart's head for the sixth. Good shift! Despite playing a few extra minutes there was no winner so 6-6 it finished.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.