Mayfly

The mayflies were out in force when I arrived home this evening, and were jostling for a position on the roof of my car. I think they were waiting on the drive for my arrival.
I've cropped its long tail bits off (on the photo, not in real-life!) as they were extremely long, and most of the picture would have just been tail. 
Mayflies belong to the order Ephemeroptera, the name coming from the Greek "ephemeros" meaning short-lived, and "pteron" meaning wing. They live as adults between a few hours and a couple of days. I only know this because I looked it up - I'm not really a Walking Wiki.
I blipped a mayfly on my car on 26th May in 2015 - I must be a creature of habit. That blip also tells a lot more about the life of a mayfly if you're interested.
I had loads to do today at work - the penalty of having had a week off. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.