1970s: the genuine article

I'm old enough to remember when everything was patterned like this, and most things were sludge-brown. In fact the first house I was lucky enough to buy sold itself to me on the basis of wallpaper not dissimilar to this but probably a bit more on the orange spectrum. Yikes! We must have had permanent headaches.

Anyway, this is a genuine 1970s fabric pillow case. It belongs to mum and was being used by my sister this weekend. As I tend to do mum's laundry these days I was able to blip it. I think it was lovingly handmade by either my aunt or grandmother both of whom were accomplished seamstresses. They did their best to teach me but I was a pretty dismal pupil. I'm sorry to say I probably had clothing in fabrics not unlike this. It's clearly built to last but happily my wardrobe looks a good deal more sober these days. Though perhaps it's utterly on point now. It must be due for a revival.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.