Carpe diem

By EveryDayMatters

International Exchange

Who are you - Zhang Wen Ping?

Today I was using my 'trusty' Swiss army knife to change a car key battery. This reminded me of an event that happened a few years ago. There is a story here, so bear with me!

Many years ago, my partner gave me a present of a Swiss army knife. This had extensive use, in the house, on holidays, even on the top of Striding Edge to cut a bandage and plaster for my nephew!. It travelled all over the world with me (in hold luggage of course!)

A few years ago whilst on holiday in New York - we decided to go up the Empire State building. Carrying a daysack - I just had my usual stuff with the knife in it. Little did I know that they had airport style bag checks with X Ray machines. I had to give my knife up and then collect it on the exit. So, I gave it up and was given a little ticket. We were in a rush on the way out and I exchanged my ticket for the knife - seeing the red object and quickly putting it in my pocket. Later - I discovered that they had given me the wrong one!! So - I ended up with Zhang Wen Ping's knife and he with mine... but mine was originally much better with more features and functions. That is life etc. You never own property - just really borrow it for a while.

So - just wondering who this Chinese? person is and whether he misses his knife - or is pleased with mine. New York is a mixing or melting pot of cosmopolitan life - and now one of my favourite places.

A 'Knife's' Tale

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.