The Catacombs of Shipley

Thanks for the birthday wishes for Forrest and the kind comments about the portrait. I had an idea of the shot I wanted and was quite pleased with the result. He's very proud of his Yorkshire birth and upbringing, so I wanted to find a way of placing him in that context. I think it worked.

So, yesterday was about Forrest, but today is about Roam. He's heading out at 5am tomorrow morning to fly to Peru to meet up with his mother who is a Shamanic Healer. It's a kind of working holiday for him for he has a clear brief to film the work of some of the charities that she is involved with, and also some of the rituals and ceremonies led by the local Shamans. As well as some marketing footage he's hoping that he might be able to put together a documentary film recording what are the last vestiges of a very ancient way of life. It's a wonderful opportunity for him. He has to miss quite a bit of college, but the film work he does while he's away will count towards his course work.

He's very excited but I'm a bit stressed about making sure he has everything he needs and is packed up within the baggage limits. I'm afraid he's inherited my tendency to leave everything until the last minute. He has promised me that he will start blipping again on this trip, to document his adventure. He shouldn't be short of photographic material.

OK. I need to go cook him a big farewell dinner and then hopefully have an early night. I suppose it would be good form to get up to see him off in the morning! And then I've got a busy day of my own. Life is hectic, but I guess I wouldn't have it any other way.

PS I should add that Forrest was safely back in bed when I got up early this morning, and speaking to him today he seems none the worse for wear! Either he was quite sensible or he just has an iron constitution!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.