The old doctors surgery...

The little extension was my doctor's surgery when I was a child. I remember visiting very clearly... and I didn't like him. I don't really know why I didn't like him other than the fact that he was ANCIENT.

I don't remember having my various vaccinations (not many in those days; probably just diphtheria and smallpox) but they are more likely the real reason I didn't like him. My mum had been a nurse at the hospital before she had me and she chose him as our doctor because she thought he was the best in Guernsey.

It's not all that long ago that he died so he would have to have been about 130 years old if he was as old as I thought he was 65 or so years ago. In reality he was probably around the same age as my mum and dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.