ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Bales.

A perfect Saturday today. M woke early as he had jobs to do, whereas I stayed in bed a bit longer. M was tackling the new house today, putting up blinds and finishing off the installation of the second wood burner. I tidied our existing flat to be ready for viewings when M's Mum and Dad pop it on the market next week for lease.

M sorted out a lovely lunch of bread, ham, houmous and olives for us, and once we'd eaten we headed out for Hazelhead Golf Club in the Porsche (top down in the blazing sun). We had a really good nine holes (no pars for us this time, but a couple of one-overs, which isn't bad for us). I took a few shots on the course, but I opted for this shot of some straw bales, taken on our way home for a walk in the woods behind Durris.

When we walked into the forest, I was shocked by the number of trees that had been blown down in the wind, the whole shallow root system exposed to the sun. The soil was obviously shallow and rocky, and once the trees got to a certain height they were unsustainable. To stand in the forest, while the remaining pines creaked and swayed in the silence, surrounded by felled giants was really freaky. On our way home I made M stop the car to run into the stubble fields to let me take this shot, although the flare on the right is pretty irritating I'm pleased with what my compact Leica can d0.

Home for a roast chicken with rosemary potatoes and a couple of glasses of white wine; weekend perfection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.