Trying To Stay Cool

Hello Blipfriends!
Dolly reporting today!

Thank you for all your kind comments while I am recovering from my dental op on Monday! I think I am feeling better but it's hard to tell because it's just so stinking hot!! Today was the hottest day of the year and the hottest June day in over 40 years! Mum says she can remember those hot summers in 76 and 77. See, I KNEW she was old!

Mum worked in the garden this morning before it got hot and in fact at one point she wondered if it wasn't going to get as hot as they'd said. I joined her for a break at about 11am and it felt good to sit in the shade. We stayed there awhile but soon it was too much. It got really hot quickly. Mum had a shower and then ran a couple of quick errands (in her air conditioned car!) before we settled down in front of the TV in the coolest part of the house. But before we did that she thought it would be a good idea to give me a mini-bath in the utility room sink, just to cool me down! I wasn't thrilled about that, but I must admit, it helped!

THEN she showed me a present she'd just bought me! A special mat for me to lie on that keeps me cool. Scooby and I tried it out while Mum watched TV. I think I like it! I stayed there for quite awhile and slept soundly. Mum has brought it up to bed so I can lie on it all night if I want to. Thanks, Mum! Maybe YOU could get an extra large one for you, for when YOU get those hot spells!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.