Tales from the Old Mills

By Oldmills

Lost and Found

Ah,...................... how to start. And how to end.

Well, to end like our friend John is a good way to start.

That fucker knew he was dying, as did his wife of 40 odd years, Hillary.

We find particular people in our lives, and we lose people too.

Its the great Lost and Found Department, with the Department part being far too common.

Hillary came to the market today, all Northern calm and insouciance.
We hadnt seen her in weeks, and knew her world had gone wrong.

I didnt need to ask, she didnt need to reply. a wry shrug told me all I needed to know.
I took five of the longest steps I will ever walk, and wrapped my arms around her, and held her tight, and we wept for John.

"I'm alone now, Bryan" she sobbed.


""Never", I told her.




John, ar dheis De a bhfuil tu, even though you would hate that........


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.