Jenmoirio

By Jenmoirio

15 Minutes of Fame

"In the future everybody will be world famous for fifteen minutes." 

My '15 Minutes of Fame'
Young Fiddler of the Year competition at home. A very young nervous me crept up onto the stage wearing my Grandads waistcoat ( James Strachan he was a composer and very accomplished fiddle player). I managed to get to the end of my Reel and Slow Air!! I was informed after, by said composer Grandad, that Willie Hunter was spotted tapping his foot. Quite an achievement! And never to be repeated. Well apart from when Mum requested I play her a tune as her 60s birthday present. So out came the reel again which is etched in my mind and about the only tune I can play now. I did learn Happy Birthday as a little extra present. Turned around and she was crying but assured me it wasn't earache.
Thanks for the thoughtful challenge, lovely memory revisited in the process. I also found my old tutor book, which stated in capitals and underlined PRACTICE MAKES PERFECT otherwise you will embarrass yourself! I didn't really heed this advise otherwise who knows I may have been famous for longer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.