The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Hidden Stroud strikes again

Piccadilly Mill, Stroud. Today was not supposed to contain a dark Satanic Mill shot, but on the way home from work, I forgot to pop in to my chosen location to blip it for the Hidden Stroud series. And although it was not far away, time was against me, so I did some shopping and then wandered up Lower Street, looking for secret places I had never noticed before. Eventually I realised that the very obvious (to me) mill between Lower Street and Middle Street might have some Dickensian appeal, and qualify for the Hidden Stroud series.

This is part of Piccadilly Mill's East block. The only text I can find about it on Google is extremely dull: "Mid C 19, red brick, yellow brick voussoirs. Modern pitched roof". So, I have learned a new word, voussoirs, but I have no idea what the building was used for or how many people worked or even died here in hideous conditions. Most likely, it was part of the cloth industry. The Stroudwater riots of 1825, over cloth workers' pay and conditions put Stroud on the protest map, where it remains to this day.

The Mill has now been restored and is used by small businesses as offices/workshop space. I feel some affection for it, as my first flat in Stroud was just round the corner from it, and I would like to rent a small space there one day, for writing or something...

I also took some shots of some wild flowers we were given yesterday, and a shopping trolley in a garden, brought on by RickyShitpants' blip of yesterday, but I could not get the wheels in. So that's no good! I am processing in the photogene app and uploading from my iPad, so as to keep up the learning.

Links to hidden Stroud series:
Hidden Stroud Part 0
Hidden Stroud Part 1
Hidden Stroud Part 2
Hidden Stroud Part 3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.