rower2012

By rower2012

Ceremonial Navajo shirt

Today I have something a little different for my blip, being a type of item I had never seen before. It is a traditional Native American Navajo shirt.
This is strictly a ceremonial shirt, and costing $2000 would only be worn for very special occasions. This one is owned by my friend who collects Native American Art in various forms. It is a quite rare item that does not come onto the general market very often.

This is a contemporary piece, made by 2 craftsmen on the reservation and is decorated deerskin. The decorations include horse hair, bone, animal teeth, bead work and embroidery. It is heavy weighing 30 pounds or roughly 14 kilos. It was purchased at a store here in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

I had to photograph it in-situ where it is mounted on the upper level balcony rail in the hallway. I used 1/3 fill flash to give it a small lift in brightness. I hope you will enjoy seeing this unique work of art.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.