A Monkey's Tale

By MonkeyWithAView

Monkey in the Making

No not THE Monkey, but this monkey.

Taking a drive around my old stomping ground, on our way to pick up Ri from a friends, we passed my old Primary School, Harlands CPS. This 'old' (actually still relatively new, & pretty much brand spankers when I was schooled there) place brings back a lot of fond & fun memories. I spent 2 years here, years 5 & 6 & because I joined the first intake at the school, I became part of the first years 5 & 6 at the school & one of about 18 children who had that privilege (as close as you're gonna get to 1 to 1 tuition these days!).

The teachers were great & quirky in their own little way, as they always are, & I met some really nice people there who I'm lucky to still call my friends today (even though at the time when I arrived they did take the mick out of my Yorkshire accent!). And those beautiful bright royal blue & yellow uniforms, how could I forget those!?

It's set in a very green, picturesque, friendly estate, a place where I spent many happy times, running around, playing football with friends, riding my bike, walking Ozzie.. all the joys in life.

It's a pleasure to see when passing by & I will always remember Harlands fondly.

While we're on the subject, a couple of memories that do stand out from my time there..

Being the weighing machine & tannoy-speaker system at a train station in a school play we did (it was a comedy, Airplane style humour - brilliant & genius!) I held my nose to give the tannoy character a real depth & believability (the crowd lapped it up) & whilst as the weighing machine, at the railway station, a whale steps on the scales (you can see where this is going), & I say, 'This is a railway station, not a whale-weigh station'.. pause for laughter;

A group of us making a top hat out of cardboard - it was coated in a rich purple material & for some god-for-saken reason, I don't know who suggested it, it had a piece of material at the back dangling down to protect the wearers neck from being sun-burnt (still a mystery why it hasn't yet caught on!?!?);

I also made one (who needs two) slipper out of cardboard, & covered it with horrid flowery curtain material (no sun guard though this time, shame);

And finally, one that makes me always smile, listening to the original War Of The Worlds soundtrack in class & drawing pictures to match the audio (still got that drawing somewhere - it's a masterpiece!), not quite sure what it was meant to teach us, but it was bleedin' good fun!

History lesson over. At least that's part of the autobiography written.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.