Every picture tells a...

By Eptas

It's a funny...

...old game!

Rather a strange situation as Coventry are playing at Shrewsbury this evening. I've supported The Sky Blues since I was 9 years old (an accident of geography as I was brought up in the area) and I'm currently serving a life sentence with no chance of parole. 'Old School' football supporters will know what I mean. However since moving to Shrewsbury I've also started supporting the Shrews as I have firm belief that one should always support one's local team (unless of course it happens to be Manchester Utd or Leicester or Aston Villa or...).

It wasn't very long ago when there were a few divisions between them but last year Coventry were relegated and Shrewsbury were promoted. So this evening I'll be trotting off to the usual pub and meeting with the usual people plus some old mates coming across from Cov. However tonight I'll wearing my Sky Blue shirt (after all religion trumps affection) and be in the Away stand at the ground. It will be more than a little strange and particularly so as I'm a member of the Shrewsbury Town Official Supporters' Club.

What'll I do if either team scores? On current form, I'd be very surprised!

It's a funny old game!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.