TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~Mike's Bike~

~The Vulcan In The Cornfield~

My best friend's funeral and memorial celebration was today. A lot of people stood up to speak about him, more than I've ever seen at other memorial events. I was not planning to stand up and speak, didn't think I could utter a word without crying, let alone make a complete sentence. But I was the last to stand and speak, steeling myself and knowing I had to do this for my friend. I managed to relate two funny anecdote, out of a lifetime of memories, that had everyone smiling and laughing. I'm so glad I had the courage to talk, so glad!

A few days ago I wrote a letter to Mike, after he had passed. It was read by Pastor Tom at the service, I was so happy to hear it repeated. It helped others to understand the love I had for this man. Please indulge me as I will repost it here . . . .

A letter to my dear friend Mike . . . . .

This is not a something that I thought I would ever have to put to words. Between best friends words are unnecessary, especially with guys, it's an unspoken bond. I know Mike would do anything for me and he knew I would do anything for him as well. We became friends when we were just 10 years old in Mrs. McGrath's 5th grade class. We fell for the same girls, dealt with the same bullies and always walked home together. This relationship moved through Parkman Junior High and Taft High School. A few years later we became roommates during which time I introduced Mike to Sylvia. We were no longer Mike and Jim, but Mike and Sylvia, and Jim. But I was happy because my best friend was happy. Marriages and kids, life and different locales, work and other friendships ensued, we saw each other when we could find the time. But always best friends. As we grew older we started to talk and visit more frequently, as we both realized we were getting a bit long in the tooth. Unspoken again, we knew it was important to grow the best friend status even farther as old age has a way of robbing us of the things we love. I know this, oh how I know! So my wish for everyone is to have a friend like Mike, you will be richer for it, I know this. Oh how I know! I love you Mike. We will meet again, for one day in the not to distant future I will be crossing that Rainbow Bridge myself and I will hear someone call out "Jimo" and I will reply "Sticher". At that time we will be reunited and truly be "Best Friends Forever".

Thanks Mike ;o)


A few weeks ago I photographed Mike's Chevrolet Corvette in this same cornfield. I like the graphic nature of the subject, the stalks and the sky. So when Mike's wife asked me to take his Vulcan out for a run after all the ceremonies I knew what I was going to do, "The Vulcan In The Cornfield".



(Photographed with my Canon G12, not an iPhone)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.