Nikksnacks

By Nikksnacks

A-Z food challenge: C is for Czech Republic

On a recent holiday to Prague, we went on a fabulous foodie tour called A Taste of Prague. We ate loads of amazing dishes but one of them was a poppy seed bun served with beer ice-cream. So, when it came to 'C', I knew it had to be Czech food, and it had to be the poppy seed bun (and beer ice-cream, what fun).

The pastry is called a Kolache and can be filled with a variety of sweet or savoury fillings. The beer ice cream recipe, well, it's not Czech but I did use czech beer (budvar) so surely that counts, right?

The Kolache turned out very tasty but I ran out of filling too early and I think the bun was a little too thick. So, if following the linked recipe I would double the filling and roll the dough a bit thinner.

Tomorrow is 'D' for 'Dominican Republic. A breakfast dish is on the menu (tho' we may eat it for dinner).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.