Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

Squirrel v Jackdaw...

.. The jackdaws have been The Mob in the garden since the last lot of birdfood went into the feeders. Squirrels have hung around below the feeders too. We have become kind of philosophical about which creatures benefit.. Nature seems to sort it out.

I noticed yesterday that squirrels and jackdaws were feeding on the ground together. (The jackdaws work as a team. They seem to, literally, 'line up' to take it in turns to fly up and give the feeder a good shake, so that it spills its bounty below).
Today, I was amused to see one jackdaw (with a single-file line of supporters behind him, urging him on!) stretch towards a ground-feeding squirrel as far it was physically possible to do so. (Which reminded me of my dog investigating a hedgehog!).
I had wondered what would happen next..?

To my surprise the squirrel leapt up, claws absolutely akimbo, with utter menace! I suspect it even emitted a squirrelly RRROOOAARRR!

That'll teach somebody!

Squirrels or jackdaws? Daddy or Chips?
They are both a bit of a nuisance if I'm honest.

(The squirrels have cost us less in chimney sweeping. So far!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.