BJH

By BJH

On the lookout

This gull was sitting on a lamp post when I walked to the bus stop in the morning and fortunately it didn't fly off when I stopped to photograph it.

When I checked the tracking page of Rosie's urn on the way to work, it said that the parcel was being processed by the post office. An hour later the postman was apparently on its way to my workplace with it and at 9:30 am my boss told me that something important had finally arrived and was waiting for me in his office. As soon as work allowed it, I went to open the cardboard box and have a look at the content. It was only when I held the urn with Rosie's ashes in my hands that it actually started to feel real that I could finally stop worrying about her ever getting home. The box also contained the heart-shaped pendant that I'd chosen at the same time as Rosie's urn and which the crematorium had filled with a small amount of her ashes so that I can also have her with me whenever I'm not at home.

On my last day before starting 6 days of holiday, I eventually ended up pulling an 11 hour long shift. When I'd nearly finished my morning shift, my boss asked if I could possibly stay on to help out with the delivery that had just arrived and I agreed to it because I didn't have any concrete plans for the rest of the day. I could have taken a break at some point but preferred not to because I would not have felt up to starting again once I'd stopped. I must say that I was glad when I got home though and I could finally put up my feet.

A big thank you for all the comments, stars and heart on my Collared Dove blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.