RosInAus

By RosInAus

Aussie Magpie

I needed to get my head down to work today - there was a lot of catching up to do. I did have a quick walk early on and blipped a few things, really 'second eleven' material.

Then home and grinding through a pile of business stuff on the computer, intending to have an afternoon walk beside the river blip-hunting. But then the weather closed down and we were treated to one of Queensland's mighty storms - the place to be those who like storms (I do!) and I spotted this Australian magpie sheltering in the lee of the house so nipped out and blipped it.

They are approx 44cm (17 inches) long and omniverous. So far there is a list of 140 foods they are known to eat! They also are prone to dive-bomb human heads if they unwittingly walk near their nests! Fortunately my garden ones seem benign if raucously noisy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.