Ulf in Action

During the TaiChi course I have to have at least one picture of our instructor and inspiration, Ulf.
He has now been instructing for 10 days in a row, with one day still to go. Each morning at 7 o'clock he leads 45 minutes of flexibility exercises, then meditation at 8:30. He leads and instructs the TaiChi training from 10:30 to 12.30, and then 2 more hours from 3 to 5. He leads one more hour of optional training in the evening, and finishes the day by leading a final optional round of Zen meditation.
Most of us have problems keeping up with that schedule and I was very impressed by how tough Ulf was when I met him 4 years ago at which time he was a mere 74 years old.
Now he’s 78 and shows very little sign of slowing down.  Hence the inspiration!  If this is what TaiChi does I want more of it!
Perhaps i should finish by saying that 4 years of training TaiChi and associated exercises have made me much more flexible, markedly improved my balance, which I already thought was pretty good, and further increased my awareness of where my body is.  That all comes in very handy whether moving through the forest, working on the roof, or trying to negotiate Oxford Street in the Christmas sales!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.