Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Lassie's Gone

We didn't get lost this afternoon on the steep, winding, narrow back roads of southwest Virginia, but there were a few times when we weren't sure how to get to our hotel. We enjoyed the beautiful scenery along the way -- it looked just like Wales.

This evening we set off to find the Wardell Ham Store/Highland Bull Pub, following Google directions on my iPhone. We eventually found it -- fairly close to where Google thought it was -- after driving past it a couple of times. It was an old, nondescript building with no sign.

When we walked through the door one of the few customers at the bar cried out "Oh great -- new people!" I thought "this could be very good, or very bad" I think you can tell from the photo that it was very good, but I couldn't begin to describe it adequately -- you had to have been there.

I almost forgot to explain my blip title. The 1994 Lassie movie was filmed on location here, in the fictitious town of Franklin Falls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.