Arachne

By Arachne

Project landscape

My forecast of green (hills), grey (clouds) and wet (100% humidity as I arrived) was correct on all counts.

Ambition for today: to take no notice of the canals and motorways plaiting their way through West Midlands wasteland, ignore the derelict warehouses, corrugated metal distribution centres, blackened 19th century red-brick factories with smashed windows, the container depots and the electricity sub-stations - all fabulously visible from my train journey so I failed about 67 pictures over - and to have a go at what other blippers do so well and try to take a half-decent landscape photo. So when I reached Llangollen I walked over the picture-postcard river, past the heritage steam railway and headed for the steepest path up towards the purple hills and rusty bracken. Lovely colours, lovely shifts of light but even so, my eyes kept being drawn to broken gates, wire fences and pylons. Landscapes are hard. But... focus... landscape.

Then an evening of catching up with the friend I've come to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.