Bellasmama

By Bellasmama

Need a napkin

Well, first off, I apologize for my delinquency from Blip. I don't know where the time has gone. Summer was extremely busy, any extra time that I seemed to have seemed to have been taken up with driving north and back home again. And, unlike Giacomo, I cannot stay up until late in the night working on this, I need my sleep.

That said, today we went to a Raptor Release through the University of Minnesota Raptor Center. You have seen past pictures from there from Giacomo or Bella - it is a passion of ours. 2 years ago I released a red tail hawk, and it was an amazing experience. Today it was even more special because I have recently been asked to help work on a committee to raise $3 million for the Raptor Center. Part of it will be for operating expenses and the other part will be a campaign to re-do the Mews, where the education birds live. This will help to make it more accessible to people to see them, it will be the "Raptor Academy". I was honored to be asked as this place is near and dear to our hearts.

This picture is one of the education Kestrel's. I did not ask which one or what had happened to him. But, he cannot live in the wild anymore and is now a permanent bird at the Center. As you can see he just finished a lovely meal of raw rat and he has not cleaned himself off.

I hope you are all well and I will try my hardest to check in more frequently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.