Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

New look

As you may recall, Port Appin is a diorama of interchangeable buildings which I move about to get new perspectives.  I’ve been using the harbour a lot recently - mainly because I like it and it’s a good focal point but I do have other arrangements I can put together.

I thought I’d try one today.  This is an extended harbour, possibly the one I’ll build up as Otter Ferry as I move along the baseboard.  That may be a while away but I have the idea in my head, I've just not got around to working out the levels yet.  This is important for small spaces otherwise the resultant stack of plastic looks unreal.

To refresh the new scene I’ve imported a couple of new vehicles, a Scottish Commer Post Bus and an Austin Minibus, the sort that many small operators in Argyll used.  They're probably waiting there for an island ferry.  The red breakdown truck doesn’t get out often and the ‘pop’ lorry hasn’t been seen lately.  The big ferry, MV Eigg, is still being repaired so I’ve tucked a 50’s fishing boat just behind the pier as it’s still a work in hand.  The pier is based on the one at Ellenabeich on Seil Island though many around the coast were similar.  Large ships used to tie up there to load the locally mined slate and take it to markets around the world.  

The front row waterside buildings are regularly used, they are (L-R) the Canal Company booking hall from Ardrishaig which is still there and now houses local traders.  To the right is another Ardrishaig building, the old MacBraynes booking and parcels office, again, still in use.

Second row, LHS, - just visible, the roof of a shop I saw in Dunoon and modelled and one from Millport, Great Cumbrae.  The building on the horizon hasn’t been out for a year or so, it’s South End in Stromness, Orkney.  It was quite an intricate build and is set on its own jetty so I’ve disguised it a little.


Anything else you want to know, just ask away…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.